This Is 23

Three weeks ago, I turned 23.

I’m officially the same age my parents were when I was born.

If you would have asked 13 year-old me what life would look like in 10 years, I would have described an existence where I am married with two or three kids and a New York Time bestselling author with a chance that one of my books would be made into a movie.

My 13 year-old self was really ambitious.

The real me at 23 years old is not married with two or three kids. I have never even had a boyfriend and have no people in mind that could change that in the near future. Surprisingly, I’m not a New York Times bestselling author either. I wouldn’t even call myself an author as I have yet to write a book, much less one that could be made into a movie. However, I think I’m doing pretty well.

Last September, I walked the stage at Thomas Edison State College (now University)’s 2015 Commencement. I received my diploma stating that I had successfully earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications. I’m a college graduate! Definitely not something I even thought about at 13.

While in college, I realized how much I truly loved baking and decided I wanted to pursue it as a career. So in February, I enrolled in a nine-month culinary program at a local college. I started in April and am one month away from a diploma in Pastry Arts.  So far I have earned Perfect Attendance and have been on the President’s List twice. As a part of earning that diploma, I am an extern at a local country club under their Pastry Chef. I never considered doing anything besides writing when I was 13 years old.

Also in April, I started working at a movie theater so I can help my parents pay for my school tuition. As my first real job (I’ve really only done babysitting and mystery shopping), it is pretty cool. I can watch free movies, get free popcorn and drinks, and I like a lot of the people with which I work. My 13 year-old self never considered any kind of employment that did not involve writing.

So that’s a little summary of my life now. Not the life I envisioned for myself 10 years ago, but I don’t really consider that a bad thing. Because I am not yet married with kids, I can use my time and energy to focus on my education, interests, and passions I believe the Lord has given me. I am able to devote myself to developing lasting friendships without having to worry whether I’m devoting enough time to a marriage or romantic relationship. My 13 year-old self never could have imagined my life the way it is now. I have opportunities and interests that I did not think to consider back then. I truly believe I am where God wants me. So here’s to another year of an amazing life.

Here’s to 23. 

 

One thought on “This Is 23

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

