11. Homeschooling

I am so thankful that in 2002, God called my mom to take Arianna and me out of school to homeschool us. I am even more thankful that she answered the call. Things have been tough at times but I believe the benefits of homeschooling are worth the tough times.

I didn’t like homeschooling at first, the thought of leaving my friends and teachers didn’t appeal to me. It didn’t take long for me to grow to love it. It was nice to learn at my own pace and not have to wait for the teacher to explain everything further to kids who didn’t understand. Homeschooling also strengthened my relationship with my sister Arianna. In school, I was older and a grade above so I didn’t want to associate with her and her ‘baby’ friends. That changed when we started homeschooling though. We only had each other so we were forced to become close. We didn’t know any other homeschoolers well in the beginning, so we formed the titanium bond we have today.

I’ve graduated now, but since I’m earning my BA at home, I still feel like I’m being homeschooled. It’s great to see how much it has shaped my family over the last 10 years. Homeschooling isn’t just an alternative schooling method for us, it’s a way of life. A way to live out Deuteronomy 6:7. However, the Bible never guarantees an easy road when fulfilling that verse. If we had $1 for every time my mom said she’d put us back in school, we’d probably live in a mansion by now. 🙂 Fortunately, God gives her the grace and strength she needs to get through every day. Without homeschooling, I doubt my family would be the same.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

