The Who, What, & Why Behind Captive Thoughts

Who Am I?

My name is La’Tia and I am a 19 (almost 20) year-old college junior. I live in Southern Alabama with my parents and five younger siblings. We are all very close and strive to live our lives in a way that is pleasing to God as it says in Colossians 1:10.

I love babies and young children and desire to use that love to minister to them and their parents. This summer I volunteered to lead the Beginner’s Sunday School class at my church so I keep busy providing lessons and crafts for my three to seven-year olds every Sunday.

I’ve always liked to read and my book preferences are pretty diverse. Ted Dekker, Frank Peretti, Beverly Cleary, Jerry B. Jenkins with Chris Fabry, Jerry Spinelli, Suzanne Collins, and the poet Emily Dickinson, are a few of my favorite authors.

When I was in the third or fourth grade I discovered my love for writing. The first story I ever wrote was a Father’s Day present to my dad, a short story called “The Perfect Fathers” that I wrote around age ten. When I was about eight I wrote my first poem. “I’m Sorry” was a rhyming apology to my parents after I disappointed them by doing something dumb. Since then I’ve written more poems and started some stories but I never finish any of them. Unfortunately, the only prose writing I usually do these days is for school.

When I was about 16 or 17, I realized how much I enjoyed being in the kitchen. I enjoy both cooking and baking and often get in trouble for making too many desserts. 🙂 In the near future I hope to start a baking business selling brownies, cookies, and decorated cakes and cupcakes.

The most important thing in my life is my relationship with Jesus Christ.  A few days before my seventh birthday, my dad explained the message of salvation by drawing pictures on a Wendy’s napkin and I accepted Christ. I have tried to live my life for Him ever since but because I’m human, I’ve made plenty of mistakes along the way. This is why I’m thankful for God’s unconditional love and unfailing grace.

I believe Jesus is alive and that every word of the Bible is true. I am not religious because I don’t follow any religion. I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ that motivates me to follow Him. My faith is not simply a part of my life…it is my life. I cannot survive without it and would not want to try. If that bothers you, you might want to stop reading my blog now because every post will include some aspect of Him. That thought leads me to the reason why I started this blog in the first place.

Why Did I Start This Blog?

One reason I started this blog was to show the power of God working through my life. My prayer is that when someone reads about the things I go through, it’ll either encourage them in their walk with Christ or give them the desire to begin one.

The second reason I started this blog was to encourage myself to write more often. I want to better my writing and practice makes perfect!

I named my blog Captive Thoughts in reference to my current ‘life verse’, 2 Corinthians 10:5:

Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.

It is my goal to live out this verse by getting rid of things that I put above God or His Word. I also want to evaluate my thoughts and try my best to follow Philippians 4:8. However, this is a constant battle so I realize this isn’t the type of goal I can complete and check off.

To end this post, I would describe my blog as a sort of public journal about my life experiences, spiritual journey, hobbies, and future endeavors. I pray that no matter what I write about, the gospel of Christ will shine through and touch all those who visit this blog. So thank you for starting this journey with me and may God bless you.

~La’Tia~

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

